U.S. Virgin Islands 2020 Elections Calendar

0
184

April 7 (Tuesday)

— Forms for filing nomination petition/papers available at all election system offices st. Thomas, St. John and St. Croix.

April 12 (Sunday)

— First day to circulate nomination petitions/papers.

May 5 (Tuesday)

— First day to file nomination petitions/papers may be filed, after noon.

May 6 (Wednesday)

— Deadline for political parties to submit a party emblem for the ballot.

May 12 (Tuesday)

— Last day to file nomination petitions and papers, by 6 p.m.

May 17 (Sunday)

— Deadline for candidates to withdraw from nomination.

— Deadline for candidates for the same office with similar last surnames to request in writing that the occupation or residence be printed opposite his/her name on the ballot.

May 29 (Friday)

— Deadline for filing substitute nomination certificates and papers is noon.

— Casting of lots for position of names on the primary ballot at 5:30 p.m.

June 2 (Tuesday)

— First day for receipt of applications for absentee ballots for the primary election.

— Deadline for turning in of shortened form of name for primary ballot for candidates whose name contains more than 22 letters and to give notice of defects in the ballot.

— Certification of nominees.

June 17 (Wednesday)

— All federal ballots to be mailed out to military and overseas personnel and deadline for mail out absentee ballot requests.

June 30 (Saturday)

— Campaign disclosure report due.

July 2 (Thursday)

— Last day for voter registration before the primary election.

— First day for examination of voting machines and instruction in use of electronic voting machines.

— Last day to investigate all questions relating to registration of electors.

— Last day for changes of enrollment of political parties and cancellation of party enrollment.

— Deadline for receipt of removal notices and transfer of registration.

July 9 (Thursday)

–Last day for examination of voting machines and instruction in use of electronic voting machines.

July 13 (Monday)

— Testing of electronic voting machines and tabulating equipment and certification by the board of elections.

July 15 (Wednesday)

— First day of early primary voting.

July 18 (Saturday)

— Public notice of primary election

July 19 (Sunday)

— Deadline for qualified electors to petition the boards of elections to cancel the registration of — Deadline for persons whose application to be registered has been denied to petition the board of elections for review.

July 21 (Tuesday)

— Last day for receipt by the supervisor of elections of applications for absentee ballots for the primary election.

July 22 (Wednesday)

— Deadline for appeals to the Superior Court by anyone whose claim for registration was denied or whose previous registration was canceled and who has exhausted all administrative remedies.

July 24 (Friday)

— Last day of early voting

July 29 (Wednesday)

— Testing of electronic voting machines and tabulating equipment; certification by the Board of Elections.

August 1 (Saturday)

— Primary Election.

On St. Croix, adherents of the candidates line the streets outside the polling site at Juanita Gardine School.
On St. Croix, adherents of the candidates line the streets outside the polling site at Juanita Gardine School.

August 6 (Thursday)

— Voter registration resumes.

August 25 (Tuesday)

— Casting of lots for position of names on the general election ballot at At 5:30 p.m.

August 28 (Friday)

— In case of a tie vote at the primary election, the candidate receiving the tie vote shall cast lots before the supervisor of elections at noon.

September 8 (Tuesday)

— First day for receipt by the supervisor of elections of applications for absentee ballots for the general election.

September 24 (Thursday)

— All federal ballots to be mailed out to military and overseas personnel.

October 3 (Saturday)

— Last day for voter registration before the general election.

— First day for examination of voting machines and instructions in use of electronic voting machines.

— Last day to investigate all questions relating to registration of electors.

— Deadline for receipt of removal notices and transfer of registration.

— Last day for change of enrollment of political party and cancellation of party enrollment.

October 6 (Tuesday)

— Official public notice of general election.

October 9 (Friday)

— Testing of electronic voting machines and tabulating equipment and certification by the Board of Elections.

October 12 (Monday)

— First day of early voting.

October 13 (Tuesday)

— Deadline for anyone whose application to be registered has been denied, to petition the board of elections for review.

— Deadline for receipt of applications for absentee ballots for the general election.

October 14 (Wednesday)

— Appointment of election officers.

— Last day for examination of voting machines and instruction in use of electronic voting machines.

— Deadline for appeals to the Superior Court by persons whose claim for registration were denied or whose previous registration was canceled and who has exhausted all administrative remedies.

October 25 (Sunday)

— Last day of early voting.

October 29 (Thursday)

— Testing of electronic voting machines and tabulating equipment and certification by the Board of Elections.

November 3 (Tuesday)

— General election day.

Voters fill in their ballots at the Gladys Abraham Elementary School Polling site inside UVI's Sports and Fitness Center.
Voters fill in their ballots at the Gladys Abraham Elementary School Polling site inside UVI’s Sports and Fitness Center.

November 8 (Sunday)

— Voter registration resumes.

November 17 (Tuesday)

– Run-off election day, in the event no candidate has a majority in the federal election for V.I. delegate to Congress.

November 22 (Sunday)

— Voter registration resume after any run-off election.

December 30 (Wednesday)

— Campaign disclosure report due.

Original Source: https://stjohnsource.com/2020/02/19/u-s-virgin-islands-2020-elections-calendar/